by Saverio Raffaele Mercadante
arranged by: Brian Harris

Although he enjoyed popularity for his 55+ operas during his lifetime (1795?-1870), Italian composer Saverio Mercadante's only Concerto for Horn is rarely performed today. Written around 1820, this two-movement work has a beautifully melodic first movement, followed by a fast and technically-challenging concluding movement.

This transcription from string orchestra to full wind ensemble accompaniment (see Instrumentation, below) works with the solo horn part from most published piano/solo horn arrangements (Kendor/Kuyper, etc).

Solo: Medium Advanced
Ensemble: Medium Easy

Conductor score (.pdf)

Sample parts (.pdf): 

Sound file: 

Premiere Performance (live concert) of this piece by the Waco Community Band with Sarah Harris, horn soloist, on October 27, 2015; directed by the arranger.

$62 U.S. for PDF of full score, solo horn part, band parts, and site-license

$8 U.S. for PDF of the SOLO HORN part only.

Solo Horn in F; Flute 1 & 2; Oboe 1 & 2; Bassoon 1 & 2; Clarinet 1; Clarinet 2; Clarinet 3; Bass Clarinet; Contra-Alto Clarinet; Alto Sax 1; Alto Sax 2; Tenor Sax; Bari Sax; Trumpet 1; Trumpet 2 & 3; Horn 1 & 2; Trombone 1; Trombone 2 & 3; Euphonium B.C, Euphonium T.C.; Tuba; Timpani.
Part for timpani only.

All music purchased from Publications
comes with a site-specific license authorizing the duplication of scores and parts for use by the license holder.

© Publications